Ingrid Pitt signs to Avalard

Ingrid Pitt promoting 'Cuckoo Run'

Iconic ‘scream queen’ and author Ingrid Pitt’s legacy lives on through an exciting new publishing deal with Avalard.

Ingrid Pitt is perhaps best remembered as the voluptuous star of classic British horror movies of the 1970s, but beginning in 1980 she enjoyed a long and successful career as an author, penning several novels, numerous non-fiction books and an acclaimed volume of autobiography (Life’s A Scream) in 1999.

Avalard Publishing have signed a four book deal with the estate of Ingrid Pitt. This October* sees the reprint of Ingrid’s debut novel Cuckoo Run, an exciting thriller about mistaken identity featuring Nina Dalton –  a character described by James Bond producer Cubbi Broccoli as “a female Bond”.

For 2012, Avalard is thrilled to be bringing out three previously unpublished Ingrid Pitt novels, including sci-fi action, and Pigeon Tango, the second of the Nina Dalton series. All four books will be available in print and ebook editions.

Further details will be announced in the coming months.

*UPDATE: 25 Nov 2011 – Cuckoo Run is now expected in February/March 2012. Pre-orders open December 2011 for individual books and a special subscription package.



The cover for the original 1980 release of 'Cuckoo Run' by Ingrid Pitt


About Ingrid Pitt
Ingrid Pitt was an acclaimed actress, writer and columnist. Born in Poland, Ingrid survived the terrors of the concentration camps and joined the Berliner Ensemble as an actress. She made her film debut in Doctor Zhivago and left her mark in Where Eagles Dare opposite Clint Eastwood and Richard Burton. But her appearances for Hammer Films in Countess Dracula and The Vampire Lovers would cement Ingrid’s iconic status as a glamorous ‘scream queen’, which would see her much in demand in the subsequent decades.

Alongside her career as an actress, Ingrid was a successful writer. During her life she published three novels, a children’s book, three books of non-fiction, a volume of autobiography, a recently released Doctor Who audio play (based on a script originally commissioned for the tv series in the 1980s), and numerous contributions to other books and regular columns. She had just completed work on the manuscript of The Hammer Xperience (a personal memoir of her Hammer career) at the time of her death in November 2010.

Ingrid’s official website and fan club is at

For more information or to register interest email with the book title in the subject line.



Powered by Facebook Comments

This entry was posted in 2011, Debut Book, Fiction, Film, Forthcoming titles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *